2000-12-22. Give the gift of snow to the pagans you know
=======
well, my friends and freaky freaks. I made it to work. By a stoke of luck, only. (half an hour late, but whatever) And I'm glad I did. Cuz I feel better. I'm *not* getting sick, promise ;)... Steve gave a lift to the subway, which ROCKED.

It was snowing this morning. I haven't been out while it's been snowing in about 8 or 9 years. It snowed last week, but in the middle of the night. Today it stuck to my jacket and on my eyelashes and my cigarette... It made me feel real. Made me feel like a part of nature in this big concrete jungle I live in. Snowflakes clinging to me, reminding me mother nature is still out there waiting for me. Just cuz I've gone away, she hasn't. Thank god.

I did have a very nice Yule last night. I think the snow was because of that. Alyx and I got that giant bookshelf with the money from my mom. I was so glad he liked it. And I was even mistaken about the original cost - 'WAS:4000, NOW:275' ROCK! AND he rang it in wrong - 250, and he didn't feel like changing it, sooo... My bookshelf has had a better career than I have. It's been on Spin City, Sex and the City and some commercials (the store has a warehouse which rents props out)... Can't wait to pick it up...

Then Alyx and I spent the remainder of the money on CD's. All his were stolen by an ex roommate, and he sold what he had left before I came back from St Thomas this summer (just like a mail order bride) so he could have a little money to buy me a rose for the airport and actually have gas to GET to the airport. So sweet. He got three, I got two...(Story will follow in two seconds...)

Then we had a nice dinner at Jerry's. Slightly lit and happy. I even got my employee discount still!! Cool. Then we went home and were listening to new CD's and kissing but his stomach was hurting, so we laid there for a moment and both passed out... Too exahusted. But still quite content.

Now for my bullshit CD story. I mantioned yesterday that I was trying to find Vandals albums. I'm new here and know no record stores yet, so I found one finally, that had the Vandals AND had the album I was looking for - Oi to the World. (Background: Alyx also Vandals fan and never even knew they had a Xmas album, and it rocks, so I figured we needed some hoilday music, you know)So I get there to buy it - what 6 hours later - and, "oh we must have sold it today" What? How is THAT possible. The Vandals are obscure enough that I had to track down a place that had them, and someone just HAPPENED to have 'maybe' bought it in six hours when my boyfriend, also a fan, had never even heard of the album. BS - some dickface employee wants it. Dick.

So I'm debating on if I'll call around some more... Grrr... They DID have the punk Smiths tribute album, which I am enjoying as I type here. Right now: Walleye covering "there is a light"...lovin it...

And I finally got Radiohead - OK Computer. LOVE that CD. It was so hard though. I really wanted the new Hooverphonic and PJ Harvey. This store even had Alyx's friend Curse from Tampa's CD. Right in front. He was shocked. He was super torn over what to get, too. But he got some good stuff, Velvet Acid Christ, Pink Dots, VMD Nation (? - is that it? all I know is they have some hot fuckin shit. love it)

So it was a nice end to my day. I can't wait till I'm done at this job, though. Next week...

We also found out that our inspection has been pushed back to the 17th. Phew! So, we talked with Steve this morning, and we decided that our place would be like the ansillary office of Steve's company (that he really does run from our floor). Blah blah blah. Steve's not really worried. Alyx and I are. But we'll see. we'll make it work.

***************** I had to take a break to visit the surprise goodbye party for this guy in the office. Free pizza. And coffee. Mmmm.. Didn't have my coffee today. Feeling a bit better. Not sure if I'm actually going to work Rocky Horror tonight. I should. But I didn't bring black pants, cuz I thought I wasn't going. Whatever.

I need to do some work...*groan*

| the distance i've gone | where it stands | make a claim | just me | i recommend | typealice | host | || | take me back | get me out of here |