2001-09-20. Hit the ground running
=======
** I was almost done with this huge entry, then it somehow got erased... I *hate* that.**

So... Here it is: My life to date.

We left Spa Saturday after I got off work to go look at a sublet lead that Doc found us in Jersey City.

So we go check it out, it's a pretty nice place, the commute would eat shit for Alyx since he works in Greenpoint (Brooklyn, for you non-New Yorkers). And we're talking industry with her, she's an actress as well. We talk about how what Alyx does, what our plans are, how Alyx's work is all withering due to the disaster here. She says that she's going out to LA for a month and that's why she needs subletters. Then she says that she's driving and that she'd hate to lose us as subletters, but that we could drive out there with her and split the cost. Her flexable leave date was the 23rd. We say that we'll consider her offer and her sublet.

We leave and walk in quiet for a minute or so. Electricity in the air. I could feel it. I couldn't see the world around me. I was consumed in thought.

I finally said, "What do you think?" "I don't know what do you think?" "I don't know... I mean what do you think?"

Then we started to talk about how we feel like we've done a lot of blowing of chances here. Not taking some opportunities that we realize now would have been better for us. Hindsight, you know...

So we seemed to both be hedging towards wanting to go. So finally, after walking blocks and blocks without seeing a thing, lost in our conversation, I asked again, "What do you think we should do?" Since it's his work we were really staying for. He answered, "I can hit the ground running if you can." I smiled and said, "Great, just don't you run off and I'm on." We both laughed and it was like a huge weight had lifted right off of us...

We went to meet Doc at Rudy's for a pitcher of MGD and to talk it over with him. He was very supportive. And we were very excited. We went to a sex shop in Times Square and goofed around for a while.

The next day we called my folks to ask what they thought. They thought it sounded great. They're going to help with the aquiring of a vehicle, so we had to clear the sudden option with them. I talk it over with some friends in LA, figuring costs and such. Everyone offered some sort of help, info, couches to crash on, etc. which rocked.

So I left the lady, Deborah, a message saying we'd like to talk about her offer... Call her bluff...

I talk some more to my Dad, I tell him about how I found flights on Jet Blue for $125. He said that we should just fly. It's cheaper and quicker.

We had decided that if this ride fell through we would fly anyway. That this was a sign, a chance, a window. Later my mother calls back and says that my dad is insisting we fly, and that he will pay for it. That they were going to kick us some travel money anyway, so why not just make it easier.

So my mom booked us a flight Sunday night. We fly out Thursday the 27th at 6 pm. Whoa...

We decide to stay in and polish off our bottle of rum. We manage to both be on the phone all night nonstop... It was kind of funny. We were together, but talking to other people... On different phones...

So we knew our the owners of our sublet were coming back Wednesday night, and we needed to find a place for the week. My friend said we could stay with him for the week and kick him whatever cash we could. He's in a tight spot. Cool, great...

So last night we got the truck from ReadySet (where Alyx works) and after I got off work loaded it up and navagated our way through Queens. We did pretty fucking good.

So in we are and off we go. We got over the "hump" and are in a place for the week, not really unpacking, just staying on the fly, hiding PJ (my dog) from the landlord. She's with me at work now :).

It crazy... It's hard to comprehend really. Everyone is pretty shocked. So are we. But it feels so good. Alyx started painting the Botanical Gardens today and thinks that it'll go fine. We've got about $400 in the bank and paychecks coming - not big ones because of the WTC, but money all the same. And he should get the check for the $1500 on Tuesday. Wow.

Everyone at work is really sad, but is being very cool. My boss let me keep the AC I was borrowing, he was so great. I told him I was moving, he was so thrilled for me. It felt awesome. He said that if I'm ever back in NY and need a job, that I'm family and he's here. That I'm always family.

So things look good. I read Spanklin's diary and it made me all nostalgic. I love this city. I really do. I'm really sad to go, despite it all. If we had our own place that we could afford, our life here would be vastly different right now. We'll be back. We know that. But not anytime soon. We have to go do this.

And it made me feel good to hear that Alyx wouldn't be going to LA if he thought we weren't worth it. That made me feel even better about this. That our future is happening.

I'm excited. I'm scared. I'm confidant. I'm ready for my career to start.

And this all happened as the new moon came in... Just like I was hoping for

And you know what's strange? That lady Deborah. She never called back...

| the distance i've gone | where it stands | make a claim | just me | i recommend | typealice | host | || | take me back | get me out of here |