2002-10-28. My first visit to the El Capitan
=======
Had a pretty nice weekend, er, day off. Rehearsal was OK on Saturday and then I made up 6 hours of work with a ripping headache. Yuck. So Alyx and I were too tired and broke too go out -- he put in some overtime Saturday, too. But we went home and played some more Gauntlet and drank a bottle of Champagne. Then Sunday we were uber lazy and played Gauntlet all day, since we have to return it today. I made us Tuna sandwiches with some Pirate Booty and we sat there and beat the dragon probibly 50 times so our characters would be rich and strong! hehe. I also spent a lot of time stepping on his wizards cape and making him trip. It was making me laugh uncontrollably. Then I took a midday nap, because I could. And then I spent my last bit of money *besides what I'm saving to get into Perversion this week* to go see the Nightmare Before Christmas at the El Capitan with VIP seats.

Disney vomited on what was probibly once a beautiful place. Ruined it I tell ya! That horrible organist and crappy Disney decor. I saw better Christmas decor at my boss's Christmas party last year. Alyx saw two kids - not kids that were together, two different kids, break off pieces of the infamous curly hill they had on display listed as the original set piece. Sad.

It was great to see Vincent and Frankenweenie on the big screen. Man, how I love Vincent. Most of the crowd had never seen either. We sat in the balcony and had a great view and the kids behind us were in costume. The little girl was a witch and the boy was dressed as Jack. He was so cute. Alyx and I talked about how we want to raise our kids and why we don't want to have Santa Claus a part of our kids life and I hope someday we can live up to our childrearing aspirations, we discuss them enough.

But all in all, it couldn't touch the time we saw it with my best friend Mike in New Tork two years ago. In a junky theater on 54th, the last day they were showing it, the last show of the night. As Mike and I had a premovie smoke outside they were taking down the wooden lettering from the marquee. I asked what they were gonna do with it, they said they were gonna throw it out. So I got all squirmy and asked them for it. They said no problem. These kids didn't give a fuck, one less thing to take to the dumpster. The letters were in two sections, each about 6 feet long with an accompanying plexi *Tim Burton's*. Then they made me even happier by giving me all the posters and the theater signs, the one's that they light up above the doors. I was in heaven. THEN we get inside and it was just us in the theater. No other people. It was great. We had our feet up we were singing along and talking. It was also Alyx's first time to see it in the theater. It was special.

I don't have the wooden letters anymore since moving here, things had to be pared down. But I'll never forget the glow I had that night, and the stares we got on the subway home with all that crap in our arms.

This time was nice, but not as great. Walking with my sweetums home in the chilly night, arm in arm was divine, though. We got back to his place and purloined an abandoned futon for him, so now he has a couch, had a few drinks with Carlynn and David and had a lovely night.

Sometimes it's nice to just have a weekend focused on the one you love... Even if it means not really doing anything at all.

| the distance i've gone | where it stands | make a claim | just me | i recommend | typealice | host | || | take me back | get me out of here |