2002-07-11. by the pricking of my thumbs...
=======
It's been a crazy few days... There were some pretty cool things. Things I never expected to see, I guess. Two things. The first was at work. See, the company I am now working for does work for art galleries, museums, colleges, etc. We take their slides or negatives or photos, and scan them and then catalogue them on CD in the form if Tiffs, Jpegs, Sids � whatever they request and also upload them so they can have access to view them on Insight or with a separate external hard drive. There are all sorts of different things. Whatever people want catalogued and preserved. The project I�m working on right now for example is for ArtStor. Loading thousands of images for UCSD. Lots of different stuff. Famous paintings, tribal African artwork, old advertisements, comics, etc. Lots of cool stuff � and some boring stuff, too. But apparently, a couple years ago a *weird* guy wanted his artwork scanned, some very well known, some very personal. The owner of company I guess wasn�t so familiar with him. Just thought he was strange.

It was Tim Burton.

I got to stay late a few minutes to look through his Insight page. Photos of the machetes from NMBC, all his sketches for every movie and TV show he�s done. Even Romeo and Juliet and The Black Cauldron. Pages of doodles. Pages of clowns, women, and pages of drawings of Lisa Marie. Those really stopped my breath. Looking at these drawings of this woman he loved. Drawings he made for him, and for her. It felt like I got to take a very personal peek into the life of someone I respect and admire so very, very much. Someone who has no idea that I have every intention of working with him many, many times. Someone who means so very much to a little grumpy girl hiding out in Hollywood. There was also some of his photography that was really amazing. All photos of Lisa Marie.

Girls want boys with artistic talents to draw them. It�s a truly ancient form of flattery, and a sign of love. It shows that you like someone enough to sit and spend hours really working at understanding them, or even simply exploring them. Making an effort. And he did that for her�

Sigh�

COOL THING #2:

A friend of ours who runs a club here in town *the only two dance floor all industrial club in the country!!* hehe � Nelson makes me giggle sometimes� Anyway, he arranged to have Slick Idiot come play here in LA. Slick Idiot having 2 former members of KMFDM in it he figured it�d be off the fucking hook. Well, it was a pretty small crowd, and a very poopy one at that � although some guy did come all the way from Japan to see the show! I danced my ass off and had a rawkus drunken time. I digress� The cool thing was, Nelson needed someplace for them to crash, so they stayed at Blaine and Regina�s � our friends from NY who live across the street from us! So we were hanging out and drinking with the band. Regina�s cat slept with En Esch all night � Jasper loves En Esch. And we talked about my barcode skirt and my nipple tape � Guenther thought it was duct tape, he said he was worried for my nipples. I told him not to worry, it �s electrical, not duct. They were very grateful that I danced all night. The other band members were kick ass, too. The chick- I forgot her name- was really cool. We drunkenly scarfed down Regina�s kick ass baked ziti�

Then the next day I came in late so I wouldn�t have to worry about Alyx taking me in so early since my car is busted. And so I missed the chance to go to Anaheim and see them with everyone. Minor fight ensued. Alyx said he wasn�t trying to exclude me and I said that I was getting used to it. Blah, blah, blah� I�m leaving a lot out, but I�m sick of thinking about it. I just resent that I have crap car and he has motorcycle that my parents paid for and I get fucked. I just really wanted to go, you know? There were ways that I could go too, but there was no real interest in making the effort for me�

Our *anniversary* is tomorrow. Hmpf.

| the distance i've gone | where it stands | make a claim | just me | i recommend | typealice | host | || | take me back | get me out of here |