2002-09-16. The day I felt homeless...
=======
I am so fucking tired. I need a massage, I feel like shit� Went to the Inland Invasion show this weekend. *sigh*� You know how when something fucked up happens, you get to the point where you can�t bear to tell the story over and over again? Like this friend I had in 5th grade who was in a really bad bicycle accident and her dad printed up what happened on little pieces of paper so she could pass them out to everyone at school who asked. I always liked that idea. That�s part of the nice thing about having a diary online. You can say, *Just read it!* But then I find that people don�t and they are mad cuz they feel like I didn�t clue them into my life. What are ya gonna do?

So lemme �splain� No there is no time, lemme sum up�

Inland Invasion - for those not in Southern Cali is a giant assed outdoor festival with a ton �o bands out in the desert, basically. Bands like TSOL, the Buzzcocks, the Circle Jerks, the Vandals, Pennywise, Bad Religion, Social Distortion and it culminated with a performance by the Sex Pistols. There were more than that even, but you get the idea. So I go with Adrian, his best friend and his little sister and her friend. I was super duper excited to see the Vandals, I am no punk aficianado by any means, but was excited to see theses bands, but mostly was really looking forward to seeing The Vandals. I love them.

So I guess here�s the time line (with estimates since I had no watch or playlist):

12:00ish - We arrive and sit in the parking lot for a bit drink a little Jack (I had two). We notice that the thermometer is reading 100 degrees. It�s very very hot.

12:30ish � We get inside the gates and head towards the second stage. Greg ( Adrian�s friend) is very excited and practically running ahead of us. We decide on a meeting point for *after the show* and Adrian�s sister and her friend take off. I have to pee. Adrian says he wants to go into the pit so we�d meet back by the mud puddle. I go pee and then get in line for some water it�s getting oppressively hot already.

1:30ish � Finally get my water, which took the entire Circle Jerks set :/ grrr� I�m waiting at the puddle� Some girl asks me if she could pay me for some of my water because her friend passed out. So I tell her she doesn�t have to pay me and I go up to her friend. I go back to the puddle.

Can�t stand at the puddle any more, need shade so I wait through GBH�s set in the tent to the right of the stage since I can see the stupid puddle from there. Still no Adrian and Greg.

2:30ish � The Vandals are about to come on, so I manage to get up to the front so I can see. I wasn�t going to miss the Vandals to wait by the fucking puddle, they went off in the pit, so I wasn�t gonna miss out. The Vandals kicked ass!! OMG, they rocked�

3:30ish � Vandals ended and thus did the show on the smaller stage. So I figured since they weren�t at the puddle and people were vacating, I�d go to the *after the show* meeting point which was right by the exit. So I go up there and wait, there were still lots of people, so I thought that they couldn�t have left yet, right? Well�

4:00ish - I�m still standing there and just about everyone is gone and watching the other stage� This is where I realize shit is bad. I look out at the crowd and just resign myself to the fact that I�m alone in a sea of 50,000 people. So I go walk a bit and drink two huge cups of water in the bathroom using the cup from earlier that I stashed in my dirty dirty pocket. I go and wait by the meeting spot some more figuring that they�d come back for me. Then I start feeling super fucked and go get in line for some food. Which takes a half an hour or so for me to get to the front.

5:00ish � I get to the front of the line and feel like utter shit. The burrito guy says that he just ran out of ones, so he takes off to get more for a while. Comes back with NONE. So the guy in front of me completes his transaction � I don�t know what he did about the change� And I get up there and am asking the 19 year old burrito fuck what I�m supposed to do, I only had a ten and a twenty � burritos were $6. He doesn�t know what to do. He�s retarded. I start screaming at him *you had better fucking sell me a fucking burrito for 5 fucking dollars* he says he can�t I say *I am about to pass out or puke all over your burrito cart and I need to eat something, I have been waiting for over a half an hour!* I go on and on before the guy behind me gets it for me and gives me a five back and says not to worry about the dollar. So I go sit by the entrance and try to eat. I think it was actually good, but every bite I took I thought I was going to die.

6:00ish - So I start to walk back to the meeting spot clutching my burrito. I sit there and think about how I�d love to lay on the grass and sleep, but fear laying alone. I think about trying to make some friends, but am not wanting to talk to any of the fuXors there. So I sit on the curb by the meeting spot and put my head down. Well I didn�t know that leaning forward like I did is bad. I passed out� Next thing I know I�m being shaken gently by two medics saying *miss, miss are you okay?*. I started to say yes, because I�m a retard. Then I told them my head hurt, I thought I was gonna puke, I tried to eat and couldn�t and that my friends are missing. They started to walk me to the first aid tent and decided not too since it was so far away. They left me with a bottle of water and two pills that they said were Motrin, even though one was white and one was blue. So I took them and went and sat back by the entrance after wandering the food area for a few. I saw Hulk Hogan. Put my head down again and *slept* which probably in all actuality meant I passed out again. I don�t know how long I *slept* for, but I think it was about a half an hour.

I wandered a bit longer, watched Blink 182 play for a few minutes � they sucked shit. Went back to the entrance wondering if they may have gone out to the car or something or maybe that they�d come out looking for me. So I sat on the middle plant structure so I could see people better. Then these two Mexicans got in a fight and I got an entire cup of water dumped on my already muddy ass self. Great, just as the sun had gone down and I�m in shorts and a wife beater. *Sigh* So I guess it was�

8:00ish � Bad Religion had just gone on. I look over to my left and I see some very familiar looking hair. I think, oh my god! That�s Alika from the clubs/forums! So I walk over and say *Alika?? Hi, I�ve met you once before at Perversion, I�m SallyStardust* He�s like, oh yeah! Hey! I�m here with Morrigan and Dana. I tell him how glad I am to see him and how I�ve been alone for about 6 hours or something and I ask if I can hang with them. He�s says of course and so we go up to their blanket and lay there and listen to Bad Religion and Social D play. Then they decide that they are all wiped and want to leave and they offer to drive me home. So I get Adrian�s number from my roommate at home and leave him messages about me leaving, even though I knew his phone was in the car. So we go and I leave a note on Greg�s car about me leaving and we go.

11:30 � back in Hollywood. My roommate luckily hadn�t left yet and could let me in since my keys were in Greg�s car. That�s when I just started crying� When I got home� Alyx had called and I called him back and he was almost already to Produqt and he made Jezebel and Fray turn around and take him home. So I stayed at his place and we went to pick up my keys the next day� Which was another fucking hassle� But I said this was sum up� So I guess I lied. I�m still very very tired and sore. I just want to go home and go to sleep. And the forums are down for me for some reason, so I can�t even read that, grrr�

| the distance i've gone | where it stands | make a claim | just me | i recommend | typealice | host | || | take me back | get me out of here |