2003-03-25. My wacky weekend
=======
I didn't do a whole lot this weekend really - I would have liked to have done even less, to tell you the truth... Went to game night at Smash's and got drunk and chatted to Vanessa on AIM... Even though she was sitting behind me. It doesn't sound funny, but it really was...

Saturday, after much BS and stumbling blocks Alyx *who left work early for me :] and I made it to the opening of the Mark Ryden exhibit BLOOD. Nothing was going to stop me! I was heading into my car alone on my way when I got the call that he came home early. So after more things in the way of going we made it! The line was way down the block and I was worried we wouldn't make it in in time, but we did, and he was there in a red Velvet suit. The exhibit was really breathtaking. I really love his work and seeing it in person was totally different than seeing it books and whatnot. If I had 10 grand to plunk down I would have in a heartbeat for one of those paintings. *sigh* GENIUS...

So Alyx went to bartend and I went home and Melissa and I finally got to go to the freaking movies! We flipped a coin between Gangs of New York and Chicago. Gangs of NY won and it was so worth the money just to watch Daniel Day Lewis. God he's gifted...

So yeah, then Sunday watched the Oscars - got to drive down Highland on my way home from running about with Alyx at 4:15. I was one of two cars going south *which was totally creepy* and for a good mile in the Northbound lane was all limos in the arrival line for the Oscars. It was so freaking cool. I mean every conceivable road was blocked in some way around there, till you got to my street pretty much and there were war protesters out everywhere and photographers... I drove by and felt like a 5 year old kid. One in a toothless Mr Toad lego car spewing smog on the celebrities limos, lol.

So I watched the Oscars - alone for most of them which I kind of loved. Wished I'd had some wine though. I will say FUCK YEAH Eminem!!

Then I went to work at Velvet and ran into a guy I went to college with there. Wierd. And got mah drink on and went home and got 4 hours of sleep... I had to be up early for a dentists appointment.

Now, it's been a long ass time since I've been to the dentist - like 5 years due to not having insurance, but I always was the dentists favorite, *Just remember to floss more, Mandi!* So I wasn't too worried going into it this morning, even though I was a walking zombie in bondage pants...

So it turns out that I have two small cavities on my right side, back two molars. So I am crushed at the thought of my perfect teeth not being perfect anymore. But whatever, what are you gonna do right? So I opt to get them filled right away, no dicking around and putting it off. Insurance covers 80 percent of the fillings, so let's do it - as long as I'm billed later 'cause I'm broke as fuck!

So the assistant is prepping the table and I look over and I see something in her hand and I say: Wait, I have to get a shot??

She says in her thick matronly spanish accent: Yes, ess Standard, nothing big...

And I start quietly blubbering I think to the effect of: I can't have a shot, I didn't know I needed a shot

All my dentist patient suave slips away as I start crying and muttering while trying to remain as dignified as possible and trying to not look like a total jackass...

The woman looks genuinely concerned and very uncomfortable, she keeps looking towards the door and telling me that they do this all the time, they are small cavities, that it'll be quick as she hands me Kleenex.

I manage to articulate through tears:NO I don't like needles!!

I was totally panicing...

She says:OOOoohh...Well we can reschedule?

And I don't want to reschedule, you know, it won't make it any better, right? So the dentist walks in right then and sees the patient that was cool as a cucumber when she left now behaving like someone who just saw someone die on the street. The assistant tells her what's going on and she proffers this:Well, we can try and do it without the shot, since they are small, but if you need it let me know. I mean it may hurt. Would that be ok?

And I look at her and say: Well I don't exactly have perspective on this situation, but sure, thank you.

So I sat back and watched them drill and squirt and all that and it was pretty cool really. I tried to imagine that I was in the future and being outfitted with new cyber technology...I didn't have an ounce of pain, either... So, that's one more needle avoided, kiddies :)

| the distance i've gone | where it stands | make a claim | just me | i recommend | typealice | host | || | take me back | get me out of here |