2000-12-28. Witchy-poo tangent
=======
I just have to get something off of my chest here.

Wicca, as well as other pagan religions were around LONG before Christianity and your 'coventional' western religions. As a matter of fact, christianity conveniently plotted out their holidays to line up with the traditional pagan holidays so they would have an easier time 'converting the heathens' as it were - or killing them if they wouldn't convert. That big ol' 'Christmas Tree' was taken from pagan rituals/spells. The wreath - pagan. 'Easter Eggs' - pagan. Winter Solstice (or YULE!) is a celebration of the God beginning his rebirth. (Coincidence? I think not.) The God being the Sun (in a nutshell) is preparing to come back for the spring and awaken and rejuvinate the earth from her rest (hmmm, like Jesus coming out of the tomb). Yule isn't even a major holiday for us. The only major pagan holiday they couldn't justify was Samhain (pronounced SAH-WIN), Halloween, so they write it off as the Devil's holiday. Yule isn't even a major holiday for us.

Let me also say in big letters ****we are not Satanists****

We don't even *believe* in Satan... Tricky to worship someone you don't believe in.

The pentacle/pentagram symbolizes earth, fire, water, air and spirit (Wicca is a nature based religion). The spirit being the top point. When it is up, you hold your spirit most important to you. When it is down, it's the furthest form your comcerns.

Our creed is: "Do what thou wilt and harm none" We think everything you do will come back to you three times, good or bad.

Yes - Wicca is spellcasting. But what's a spell? A wish. A PRAYER. A focusing of your mental energy to get what you desire. And, no, they don't *always* work, but do you remember how many times in your life you've really wished for something that in hindsight was such a bad idea, and you're glad you never got it? The universe makes what *needs* to happen, happen. Whether it's to learn, to grow, or to make you happy. Wiccan spellcasting just uses the electrical impulses in every one of us (inner energy) and combines it with natural herbs, etc. and lunar alignment and some focused thought to make things happen. And they do. If you put some crushed Juniper Berries in Tony Robbins (is that his name? fire walker dude?) hand he'd look closer to a witch than he does currently, but what do you think he's doing. "Positive Mental Thinking - You Can Achieve Anything" Sounds like Witchcraft to me...

Tea is a good example. Chamomile tea. Calms you down, soothes you, because that's one of the powers the Chamomile leaf has. Certain foods can make you feel better depending on the hebs used in them.

It's an expansive volume of knowledge. I wish I could say I even knew a fraction of it. But I'm working on it. I've probibly neglected 75% of what I want to say about it, but I have to go do the bidding of my employer.

Just don't write it off so quickly. It's a powerful thing. I blew out a cash register the other day because I was really frustrated, and I don't do my exercises like I should. I didn't mean it. But I don't write those things off as coincidence any more. I haven't gotten into a discipline and practice yet. (I can't even find a regular cleaning schedule...)

So next time you burn incense, light a candle or use any herbs, just know that you are sending out a little spell...

and be nice to your local witches, cause they'll be nice to you. and maybe MAKE you some special incese or sachets or amulets or....

Okay, I'll stop now.

| the distance i've gone | where it stands | make a claim | just me | i recommend | typealice | host | || | take me back | get me out of here |